:sweat: 
Dear all,
This is my first build, the specs are as follows:

Mobo: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
CPU : Core i7 3770k
Ram : Kingston Hyperx Genesis Lovo
PSU : Seasonic 760W Gold Modular
Graphics Card: MSI 7850 Twin Frozr III

Symptom: Power Button LED ( On the motherboard, next to RAM slots) keeps blinking orange as soon as I connect the PSU. Other that that, no response, totally dead.

So as the title says, I'm on my second motherboard after the first one was found 'defective' and replaced under replacement warranty.
The problem was as described above. I did not get it to boot even once.
The shop tested the PSU on load, it seemed to work ok, the fan turned on (but it only does so on higher loads, so I'm assuming they tested it under high load). They said PSU is ok.

So I came back home, took the motherboard out of the box and simply did a breadboard test, with the CPU, cooler and RAM (one stick only).
Same problem!
I'm at the end of my wits with this thing :fou: 

Please help out this noob. :( 
August 20, 2012 10:16:12 AM

Your cpu may be faulty, did you verify that you have the auxiliary cpu power connection. I had the exact same problem with my system a while back, the light would blink occasionally, I had a bad psu.
m
l
August 20, 2012 10:47:21 AM

vegettonox said:
Your cpu may be faulty, did you verify that you have the auxiliary cpu power connection. I had the exact same problem with my system a while back, the light would blink occasionally, I had a bad psu.

Thanks for the reply vegettonox.

Well, at the shop they tested it with a different cpu. The previous mobo had the same problem there, so I'm not really sure its the CPU.
Power wise, I connected the 24-pin ATX and the 8 pin 12V supply for CPU.

The only combination I'm not able to try is a different PSU.

The 24 pin side that connects to the PSU is split into two parts, 1x16pin + 1x8 pin.
The 8 pin one contains the Green / Gray wires for PSU_ON and PWR_OK.