Sign in with
Your question

Which CPU for Gaming? AMD FX-6300 or AMD FX-8120?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
January 4, 2013 4:22:56 PM

Please read my entire post before posting!

Hi,

Its my first time building a computer, and I need help deciding which of the 2 processors to get. Mainly, if its worth saving money and going with the 8120 or if theres a big enough difference to warrent the 6300. PLEASE NOTE that the 8120 comes with a better (i think?) mobo. More details below:

I'm a gamer. I play games like Guild Wars 2, BF3, and am looking forward to 2013 releases like Total War: Rome, or RPG openworld games like Tomb Raider.

I was already set to buy the FX-6300 with an ASRock 970 Extreme3 mobo, but then I came across a bundled deal at NCIX.com for something different.

I can get a better mobo (Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard) bundled with the AMD FX-8120 for $229.99. The 6300 with the ASRock 970 will cost me $222.94.

For my gaming needs, which bundle should I get? If I were to get the 6300 AND the Asus EVO then that would cost me about $60 more ($40 after rebate). I am on a tight budget, but if its far and away the best option that blows the other 2 out of the water, then I will consider it based on your opinons.

But PLEASE do NOT make this into an Intel vs AMD suggestion thread. I've already decided that its between these products.

Thanks ahead of time for all your help guys! :) 

EDIT: In case it makes a difference, I am buying a XFX Radeon HD 7870 2GB Video Card to go with this setup. I would like to avoid any bottlenecks.

Thanks again!
a b à CPUs
January 4, 2013 5:30:02 PM

The 6300 is a generation newer, and the bump between bulldozer and piledriver was a nice one. The 8120 has 1 more module(2 more cores), but it's clocker lower, has lower IPC and uses more wattage. There will certainly be some games which will like the extra module, but on the whole the 6300 is a far better choice for gaming.