Sign in with
Your question

Yet another ... $2500 HD video, Photoshop, DAW build

Last response: in Systems
August 20, 2012 11:39:04 PM

I've been browsing the site and trying to come up with a system that meets my needs. I have too many hobbies (photo, video, music) and need a system that supports them. From what I've seen, the turnkey guys want much more money than I'm willing to spend, so I'm planning to build this myself. Please critique my selections and offer advice for improvements and/or cost savings.

Here is what I've pieced together:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/faHn

Approximate Purchase Date: next few weeks

Budget Range: $2500-ish before monitor

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
Photo editing (Capture One Pro, Photoshop CS4)
HD video editing (Sony Vegas Pro)
Recording music tracks and mixing music (Sony Acid, other programs)
I am a hobbyist with all three, but a relatively advanced one I think

Are you buying a monitor: Yes - probably the Dell Ultrasharp 24" IPS

Do you need to buy OS: yes, will use Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: open to suggestions; Amazon or Newegg probably

Location: DC, USA (there is a Micro Center near me, if that matters)

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU

Overclocking: I don't think I need this, but please advise

SLI or Crossfire: No?

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1200 upon upgrade (currently 1680x1050 with 22" HP)

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: Speed - current rendering time for non-HD video is just too darn long. Also my kids need a hand-me-down, so the current computer will go to one of them.

The chosen drive configuration is:
256GB SSD for OS/Programs - would 128GB be sufficient?
250GB HD will be a dedicated Photoshop scratch disk - this was only a couple bucks more than the 160GB drive, though it's overkill
2 TB drive for source material, plus 2TB drive for renders/final outputs/documents
The separate read/write drives should suit my needs better than a bigger raid 0 configuration.