Sign in with
Your question

Build a PC for me for general use (under $800)

Tags:
Last response: in Systems
August 21, 2012 9:24:35 AM

I'm a noob and this will be my first build. I'm no expert on computers but I know a little so bare with me. I dont game at all this PC will just be used for general use. The most stress put on the system will probably be from streaming movies to my xbox. I dont want to spend over $800 otherwise I would rather get an imac. The less it costs me the better but I dont want to cheap out.

I'm looking for something thats super quick and also very quiet. I love how fast my macbook pro boots up and dread using my HP desktop.

I've heard good things about the i5 processor so I will most likely use that unless somebody convinces me otherwise. I will also be taking advantage of the intel smart response technology so I'll need a MB compatible with that.

I'll be using a solid state hardrive for boot up and a 1tb+ for data (7200rpm)

Ram I will take your guys advice on is it 16gb worth it or should I save money and stick with 8gb?

Power supply I have no idea about but I heard it makes or breaks the PC

Graphics card again no idea but I need an hdmi output

Other things I need

DVD CD Burner (maybe even a bluray burner if I can fit it into the budget)
USB 2.0/3.0
Case (obviously)
Multimedia card reader
USB on the front of the case
OS-Windows 7 or 8?
Good cooling system that is quiet

Also need suggestions on a good 21"+ monitor preferably under $200? Is LED the best quality?

Any suggestions or things you think i should add to it (or something im missing) would be great this is my first build so I'll take all the help and advice I can get. A link to all the wires and other accessories I'll need to build would be nice as well. Would I be better off building it myself or getting a website to do it?

More about : build general 800

August 21, 2012 11:35:23 AM

Here you go http://pcpartpicker.com/p/fdHh
$800 with no graphics,os or monitor.