Sign in with
Your question

Building an Indie Game Dev workstation - would love some advice

Last response: in Systems
August 21, 2012 3:58:57 PM

Hello experts!

I haven't built a PC in quite a while, and am trying desperately to catch up on gear as my primary Dev PC is starting to die. I've upgraded it to Frankenstein levels, but many components are 5+ years old.

I'm developing a game called FRACT OSC for windows & mac and as an indie dev, I'm doing a little bit of everything involving content creation: modelling, sound design, animation, making trailers, graphic design, and of course working on the actual game itself.

I'm not really interested in a cycle of endless upgrades, so I'd like to build a reliable and powerful system that lasts. Ideally I'd like the CPU, Motherboard, Ram, PSU and case to not change for years (barring any unexpected failures of course). I would be willing to upgrade the videocard down the road, but it's not something I'm really excited to do. Also, I'm completely un-interested in over clocking this system, period.

My big debate at this point is to go for an 3930k based system or a 3770k based system. Basically, I'm wondering if the added cores/threads of the 3930k will benefit me more than some of the 3rd gen features of 3770k. I'm leaning towards the 3930k, but if you can convince me otherwise, I'm all ears (especially since that road is cheaper).

One thing that does intrigue me about the 3770k is the option to test our game on the integrated GPU, but I suspect productivity will far outweigh this 'feature'. Also, PCIE 3.0 vs 2.0, thoughts?

So just to recap the two ways I'm thinking:
i7 3930k
x79, not crazy expensive based motherboard (a good one, I prize stability and speed over features like onboard THX audio)
32GB of the fastish RAM within reason that the CPU and MOBO will support (I was looking at corsair vengeance)
A nice modular PSU (corsair 850w was where I was looking)
A good, cable management friendly case, no lights please