New School/Work/Fun

pootklopp

Honorable
Aug 21, 2012
First let me say I am new to computer building and am looking to get into it fast. Just from what I have seen on Tom’s so far I know I am going to get some great advice from forum members. At this point I only have my dell laptop that is getting old, so a new system is needed.

Approximate Purchase Date: within the next 30 days

Budget Range: ~1,500 After Rebates, After Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: School/ Video Viewing/Gaming. I will be running Autodesk software (AutoCad, Architectural Desktop, maybe even Maya in the future) and Adobe software. I usually watch videos (streamed or downloaded) to an external TV (hdmi out). Then some gaming on top of that (Day Z Mod, maybe some more)

Are you buying a monitor: Yes, some monitor advice would help too.

Parts to Upgrade: New Build

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Whatever is cheapest, would prefer newegg/amazon

Parts Preferences: Always been an Intel fan, from what I have seen so far the i5’s are what is being recommended.

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Don’t know

Your Monitor Resolution: TBD, monitor advice is also welcome

Additional Comments: New to computer building and just looking for guidance from the good people of Tom’s. I would like the computer to be somewhat upgradeable for the future as I will get a job next summer and be able to spend more on it. I will probably be storing CAD projects on this computer so some additional storage will be needed.

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: Need something that can smoothly run what I need to run as listed above. Since I am going to be using these programs daily I want them with limited lag, within reason. The projects that I will have running on this computer are not going to be huge design projects usually just student created work.