Black Screen Of Death Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

ImpurePhoen1x

Honorable
Jul 2, 2012
Hello,

I've been getting a black screen on my laptop for about 2 days now. It boots to the Windows 7 Splash Screen then all i get is a blank screen. Out of about 30 or 40 boots I've been able to boot successfully to the desktop twice. I can boot into safe mode just fine and I've tried repairing, restoring to a point from a month ago, the previx fix, scanning for malware, etc. I have no idea what the problem could be. Any advice or information needed?

Solution
There's no switchable graphics. In fact I don't even see IGP on the cpu. Just Radeon mobility 5730.

Data sheet.

Drivers and downloads HERE.

Series HERE.

Honestly, I think the card is defective. Works with generic Windows drivers but as soon as the AMD official drivers hit the card, BAM! No display.

Should contact Lenovo... I have plenty of experience with them and, for the most part, they're good (If you get someone that speaks English, that is if you yourself speak English) HERE.

RussK1

Splendid

System specs would be greatly appreciated.

ImpurePhoen1x

Honorable
Jul 2, 2012
Sure thing

Processor Intel Core i7 i7-720QM / 1.6 GHz
Max Turbo Speed 2.8 GHz
Number of Cores Quad-Core
Cache L3 cache - 6.0 MB
64-bit Computing Yes
Front Side Bus 1333.0 MHz
Chipset Mobile Intel HM55 Express
Features Intel Turbo Boost Technology,
Hyper-Threading Technology,
Integrated memory controller

Memory

RAM 4.0 GB ( 2 x 2 GB )
Max RAM Supported 8.0 GB
Technology DDR3 SDRAM
Speed 1066.0 MHz / PC3-8500
Form Factor SO DIMM 204-pin
Slots Qty 2
Empty Slots 0.0

Storage

Floppy Drive None
Hard Drive 500.0 GB HDD / 5400.0 rpm
Interface Serial ATA-300
Storage Removable None
Optical Drive DVD-Writer
Optical Drive (2nd) None
Hard drive type Portable

Display

Type 15.6 in
LCD Backlight Technology LED backlight
Max Resolution 1366 x 768 ( HD )
Widescreen Yes
Features Glossy,
VibrantView,
Ambient light sensor

Audio & Video