Good video cards for 350w pssu

ViggyNash

Honorable
Jul 3, 2012
I have this relatively old 350w psu with 2 12v rails, one at 6a, the other at 12a. I'm pretty new to this and I don't fully understand how multiple rails work. As I understand it, I will effectively be running everything but the cpu on the 12a rail, and the cpu on the 6a rail.

I'm planning to get an i3 2100 which will just barely fit on the 6 a rail at 65w. I also have 2x 2g ddr3 and this mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157236

I'm not looking for anything game changing, just something that will run smooth with modest settings. I've been looking at the 6670, but I feel like that may be cutting it too close. Do you guys think my psu could handle a 6670 or would I have to downgrade?

Also, could someone explain multi-rail psu's? This entire question has been based on how I understand them currently so it could be that I'm asking the wrong question.

Lastly, would it be a better idea just to trash this psu and get a better one?

panwala95

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2011
if you want to keep your psu then your best bet would be getting a hd 7750
multirail means that in a single rail psu all the power is concentrated to just on rail
but in amultirail config power is distributed to two or more rails which is usually more efficent and lasts longer
on the downside in multirail configs till the time one rail is not fully loaded the other one will not be activated
also some manufactures like cooler master sometimes make false claims about their multi rail configs
if you are a casual gamer get the hd 7750 but if are more serious get abetter psu and probably a hd 7850
hope this helps!
good luck!

fil1p

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2010
Hey,