Solved

Power supply Questions

Last response: in Components
January 6, 2013 6:13:57 AM

Hello,
I have a Lenovo K330 with intel core i7 2600 3.4 ghz
8gb ram ddr3
64 bit and i bought a nvidia gtx 660ti
(http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008Z0AS9A/ref=oh_deta...)

I needed a new power supply because the one that came with lenovo was 280 watt.

So i bought this power supply:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004YF9K7G/ref=oh_deta...

But everytime i try to run games on high specs the computer shutdowns.

I changed to my old power supply with the nvidia card on and I didnt got that problem. But i know that 280 watts are not sufficient to handle this card. Can anyone tell me what is happening? i'm pretty new to this so if anyone can help me i would appreciate.

More about : power supply questions

a b ) Power supply
January 6, 2013 11:03:39 AM

HI, It seems it's a power supply issue. Can you RMA it?
a b Î Nvidia
January 6, 2013 12:01:24 PM

im not familiar with the brand, but can you get a better psu? something like a $60
Related resources
a b ) Power supply
a b Î Nvidia
January 6, 2013 1:58:31 PM

It's pretty clear that PSU is junk. Just how rubbish it is is hard to tell, but it seems like the obvious solution is to try and return it and get something else.

There's a few reasons for this. Firstly, while it might be theoretically capable of 600W, you will never be able to use a huge amount of it because the only voltage that draws any significant power is 12V. A good 600W PSU is likely to provide well over 500W on 12V, yours (apparently, data is limited) claims to be around 400W. 400W should be enough for your needs, if it was actually giving you that, but given your issues and the fact it's a very cheap PSU it seems safe to conclude it's not even close.