Asus gtx 550 ti power supply unit?

thEnurburghype

Honorable
Jun 7, 2012
Hi, so basically i have a switching creation 600 watts PSU with a DEDICATED 6 PIN PCI-E power connector and i want to know if an asus gtx 550 ti will be able to run on it...Also the most important thing is that it has 10amps on the 12v rail and i know this is little. Most people are telling me the psu is good as long as it has a 6 pin power connector.The graphic card vendor even inspected my psu and guaranteed me that it would work even with the GPU stressed and funtioning at max!I'm puzzled ;0 My question to you all is if the psu was that bad what THE HELL WOULD IT HAVE A 6 PIN connector! THis would defeat the purpose of having 10 amps on the 12v rail...sorry i'm no expert in power supplies and graphic stuffs but i REALLY want to know this. ANY HELP WILL BE APPRECIATED!THANKS!

I understand your frustration, and actually, there IS NO purpose in having only 10 amps on a 12V rail unless you're cutting corners (and costs) to raise profits. they probably put the 6-pin connector there because just about all 600w PSUs have at least one, most quality ones 2 6-pin connectors

now the gtx 550ti isn't a particularly power hungry card. so enough though I have doubts that you can actually draw 600w from your PSU, your system will be running it somewhere around 50-60% load. which I believe should work out

DM186

Splendid
If it is only one 12v rail then some how it has the wrong power settings for it along with the 6 pin connector. If the your card draws 135w then that power supply will not work on that card.

10amps on the 12v rail is only 120w. I can't see that a 600w PSU has a single 10amp 12v rail. Are you sure that you only have the one 12v rail? If you have more it will look like 12va or 12v1 etc.

I would take another look and maybe take a picture and repost it on here. Good luck

thEnurburghype

Honorable
Jun 7, 2012