Sign in with
Your question

A Discussion about Value

Last response: in Systems
August 23, 2012 2:51:16 AM

History: Back in 2005 I had built one computer myself (partially although over time I had taken out every single component in it just for the sake of really learning how to put it all back together.) had taken it to university with me and was satisfied by it, exiting university I found myself with about 4,000$'s to play around with knowing I wasn't going back I decided to build myself something that I would be able to enjoy for atleast the next 3 years, at that point in life I thought everything had to be bleeding edge that it had to be worth the extra 500 or more dollars to buy that top tier product. The build I did at that time completely changed my view of computers (I was a noob) I had 4000$'s I could buy pretty much anything I wanted back then, around this time is when I found Toms.. and started reading it everyday and looking at the articles and benchmarks, I am absolutely certain there were no system builder marathons back then, you had to read everything and check for compatibility, there was no pre-made parts list. All that being said these are the builds I had back then.

2003-2007(RIPieces) Computer:

CPU: P4 3.0 Northwood
Motherboard:Asus P4C800e-delux
Ram: 4X 512 Kingston Pc3200 Ram total 2gb
Videocard: ATI Radeon X800pro 256mb AGP
Harddrive: 1X74 Gig Raptor @ 10000RPM 2X 250GB WD black IDE Hdd's
Soundcard: Audigy 2ZS PCI
Case: Aspire Super-X Alien
PSU: Aspires included 500W swapped to a 500W Antec Truepower
Drives: 1X LG DVDRW 1X LG DVD

Price: About 2700$'s (I overpaid :(  )

2005-Still running today

CPU: Athlon 64X2 4400+
CPU coopler: Gigabyte Turbine something?
Motherboard: Asus A8nSLI Premium
Ram: 4X 512 Kingston Hyper-X Pc3200 Ram 2 total 2 gb
Videocard: Geforce Evga 7800GT 256MB PCI-E
Harrddrive 1X WD Raptor SATA HD 1X 500 gig WD SATA @7200RPM
Soundcard: N/A
Case: Purchased a Raid Max Scorpio 868 but used the Aspire Super X Alien