Upgrading - What memory type?

G

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting to this BB, and actually, the first time reading here!

Anyways, I'm planning on building myself a new PC, as I'm currently running a dinosaur K6/2 300mhz. I plan on purchasing an Athlon 1.4Ghz processor. I'm still undecided on what motherboard.

Keep in mind, I play alot of 3D intensive games, and I do some work in Macromedia Flash5.

My question is twofold:

1) Can someone reccomend a good motherboard for use with the Athlon 1.4Ghz processor? One with good performance in the above areas (games, graphics).

2) What's the difference in these memory types of DDR memory and RAMBUS? What is going to give me better performance. Perhaps someone could point me to an article that explains the difference in the two types of modules, as I've been unable to locate one.

Anyways, I hope I've made myself clear, and if someone can please help me out with suggestions/tips on my questions, I would really appreciate it. Thank you!

Merrick

Arbee

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2001
1 - Good choice
2 - for an imediate acquisition go for the ECS sis735 based mobo - quite fast and really inexpensive
3 - for memory get 256/512MB of DDR SDRAM (PC2100)
4 - you can't use RDRAM in any current socket A chipset (just intel).

How terrible is wisdom when it brings no profit to the wise

tilepusher

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2001
Hey T,
My Answers: 1) Are you going to get a 200 mhz Athlon or a 266 mhz Athlon? I would go for the 266 mhz- the diff is the 200 mhz Athlon's run PC 133 SD-Ram(slower), the 266 mhz Athlon's can run PC2100(266 mhz) DDR Ram. Next do you need this mobo right now? and are you going cheap or are you going all out? Right now, for a cheap mobo, you can't beat the "ECS K7S5A" based on the SiS 735 chipset. For high end, this is a toss up.......check out Iwill KA 266R version BO, or Abit KG7 R. If you can wait, watch for the release of mobo's based on the Via KT266A, Nvidia Nforce, and newer SiS 735 chipsets.