Sign in with
Your question

Building My First System (Need Advice)

Last response: in Systems
August 24, 2012 3:52:40 AM

Hey there :hello:  ,
So this is the first time I'm building a computer. I have been researching/learning and looking around for a while now and I planned out a rough sketch of the components I am interested in. I would appreciate any of your experience, advice, and recommendations for my build as well as any modifications to it. Also helping me answer some of my questions would be great :D  . The computer will be mainly used for Gaming (mmos, rpgs, fps, all types), Multimedia (movies, music, etc..), and some video editing. I would like to have this rig built by one months time. I read a lot about overclocking different components and though this is my first time, I would be willing to try it out (but keep in mind its my first time :kaola:  ). My budget doesn't really matter as long as it is relatively around the price tag of my sketch (maybe even more). So without further ado here it is:

CPU: Intel core i5-2500k - (is it worth getting i5 3570k? or is overclocking the other one fine)
CPU cooler: Thermaltake water 2.0 extreme Liquid Cooling System - (what about Corsair H100?)
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC Signature+ w/Backplate - (feel free to recommend a different one)
Ram: Corsair Vengeance 8g (4gx2 or 2gx4?? whats the difference?) - (or should i get 16g to be sure for the future (I know I do not need more than 4g for games and 16g is an overkill but just asking to make sure :)  ))
Motherboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX (feel free to recommend a different one)
Sound card: Is it worth spending money for a high-end quality one or can I happily stick with the integrated one?