[New Build] First time builder looking to reduce cost on $1800 plan

Nitrotetrazole

Honorable
Aug 25, 2012
Howdy all, first time posting here, very little background in electronics or computer assembly. You assistance is appreciated in advance.

I have a scholarship of sorts that includes a dedicated computer fund. "You have an $1,800 budget to purchase a computer, software, and any supporting pieces you need to work in your own business, or to finish your academic program."

I've never worked with building a computer before, but I figured I could get a lot more performance for the money while also learning more about computers, a value in itself for me.

This computer is intended to function as both a work computer and personal use gaming rig. As I'm currently in art school, a lot of the work applications will involve 3d work, rendering, photo/video work, etc. Gaming is limited but I'd like to be able to buy a demanding game a year or two from now and not need to upgrade to play it (notably I play a lot of DOS games and the like, so believe me when I say I have no problems turning down graphics settings).

I do not intend to overclock anything, and I have no intention of using any kind of SLI or Crossfire setup.

I do have a few concepts of brands I like and some I'd rather avoid, but nothing is concrete. My opinions have only been formed by reading online reviews here and on product listings. If you give me a recommendation, please consider that I would prefer brands with a reputation for quality products and good customer service.

Currently I'm looking at getting everything at once on Newegg, but if you think I should consider another source for a part feel free to link me.

Here's my probably incomplete part list so far:

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - OEM $100