Sign in with
Your question

Computer is breaking, can I get some help?

Last response: in CPUs
January 10, 2013 4:48:00 AM

I posted a while back about a problem I had with the computer randomly losing connection to the router, refusing to reconnect, taking a ridiculous amount of time to restart, and then blue screening at the end right before restarting. Well after tinkering with it for a long time I thought I had figured it out on my own...until it got worse. About an hour ago it bluescreened at random and then restarted before I could read anything. I am honestly at my wits end, I've scanned for viruses and found nothing. I've done everything I know to do at this point. Could somebody please lend a total newbie some help?

More about : computer breaking

a c 79 à CPUs
January 10, 2013 5:13:56 AM

okay first up, have you done any changes or tweaking through your BIOS? have you tried restoring your BIOS to default values and then observe if you get the erratic behaviour?
Have you tried a fresh installation of windows to see if the problem is with your current installation?
Do you get any software based warnings? like for cpu temps etc?
I am just throwing the stuff that comes to mind but its all worth checking

The most important thing....have you taken a back up of your data because there is a fair chance that you might have a failing hard drive. if there is any clicking sound that you hear coming from your hard drive then that is a sign of a failing drive head.

lastly share your system's specs with us
good luck
-Satyam
m
l
January 10, 2013 5:18:22 AM

I agree with a possible failing hard drive. Also, a failing PSU can do weird things as well.
m
l
Related resources
January 10, 2013 5:41:30 AM

I have 2 of these G.SKILL 4GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Laptop Memory Model F3-10666CL9S-4GBSQ

GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3P LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard