Sign in with
Your question

Broken boot sector?

Last response: in Storage
Anonymous
a b G Storage
September 10, 2001 5:05:59 AM

I seem to have stuffed my boot sector using partition magic. At least that's my guess.

I was running dual-boot with win2k and linux, I decided to make a new partition so I could have a look at XP but I'm new to partition magic and that's where I think I stuffed up. I moved my linux partitions up the drive and tried to squeeze in an NTFS partition between linux and windows, which all seemed to go well but after rebooting the LI-LO boot loader didn't load, instead all I got was:

Verifying DMI Pool Data.....
LI_ (the _ is a flashing cursor)

I've tried everything on this drive since then to get it to boot but it won't. As for the data and existing partitions, I had access to all the data, I have since removed and backed up neccessary stuff and completely reformatted and repartitioned the drive.

The drive will let me install Windows 2000 but it will not boot.

I also tried loading a ghost image to the drive, the load was successfull however the drive still won't boot.

I'm no expert but my guess is that when I installed linux, it's boot-loader program location was written to the boot record/boot sector thingy and then when I moved the linux partition the bootloader was no longer where it was expected to be.

My question... how do I fix this if indeed it is the boot sector I've broken?

If it's not the boot sector, what have I done?

Thank you for your time, as always, any help received will be greatly appreciated.

Jeffro.

P.S: Drive is a Quantum Fireball LM20.5

System: Abit KT-7, Tbird 800, 384 PC133, Gf2 MX, SBLive!

More about : broken boot sector

September 10, 2001 6:11:51 AM