Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Would like help building first pc

Tags:
  • Components
Last response: in Components
January 12, 2013 6:03:30 AM

Sorry I'm kind of new to this whole scene, but I am interested in building my very first pc and would like as much help and as possible. Like most people I don't want to break the bank but I would like to try and keep it under $1200 while still being able to get the most bang for my buck. I do play a lot of games ranging from mmos to fps so somewhat decent specs would be nice so that it runs nicely. I have been searching around and have a couple ideas (links below) but any feedback would be nice. Thanks in advance!

http://lifehacker.com/5840963/the-best-pcs-you-can-buil...

http://www.theverge.com/2011/12/19/2639968/how-to-build...

More about : building

January 12, 2013 10:15:05 AM

Both links are a solid guide, but they are reasonably outdated (2nd one is over a year old) which means the value for money aspect has shifted.

To help, it'd be good to know a few pieces of additional information.

- Do you need the budget to include Windows?
- Do you need the budget to include a monitor?
- If you don't need a monitor, what is your current monitor? (This is important because there is no point suggesting a high power system if you can only display at 720P or so)
- Do you need the budget to include any other peripherals?
- Are you interested/keen/confident in overclocking a CPU?
- Aside from gaming, do you have any other requirements?

People will make suggestions, but without that sort of info they are kinda pointless.
For that kind of budget there are probably two rough builds

i5 3570K
decent cpu cooler
good z77 motherboard
8gb 1600mhz ram

i5 3450/3470
cheap or stock cooler
value b75 or h77 motherboard
8gb 1600mhz ram