Computer Shutting off Playing Games

kylebrannick

Honorable
Jan 12, 2013
Hey everyone,
I seem to have the same problems that countless other people have reported, which is my computer shuts off while I'm playing graphically intense games. Recently I started playing Dead Island and the problem is worst than ever.

My specs:
ASUS M4A87TD EVO
SAPPHIRE 100283L Radeon HD 5770
COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M600
AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM
5 SATA Hard Drives

I thought the issue was heat related, as it has started recently and the temperatures have been hotter than ever, but the last shut-off Speedfan recorded the following temps:

Temp1 Temp2 HD4 HD0 HD1 HD2 CPU MB GPU Core
54 44 32 37 37 37 54 44 72 0

which are warm, but I wouldn't expect them to be critical shutdown temperatures. I have recently cleaned out my entire case and re-applied thermal paste to my GPU and CPU which hasn't seemed to help. My only guess at this stage is maybe my power supply is suddenly not good enough? Is there anyway I can tell without spending a few hundred dollars on a new one? Are those temperatures high enough for my motherboard to stop working?

Solution
Download a tool called CPUID HWmonitor. This will give you an indication of all sorts of things in your computer including voltages. Install this and benchtest your system using Prime95 and/or Furmark.

I have a 850W Silent Pro and stopped using once I found out it started with a low voltage and this dropped below ATX spec when it was loaded up.

pauls3743

Distinguished
Download a tool called CPUID HWmonitor. This will give you an indication of all sorts of things in your computer including voltages. Install this and benchtest your system using Prime95 and/or Furmark.

I have a 850W Silent Pro and stopped using once I found out it started with a low voltage and this dropped below ATX spec when it was loaded up.

Solution

tech3475

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2009