Possible AMD build

BigThumper

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2009
I'm getting ready to build my next toy - it's been a few years and my Core2 6600 is starting to show its age. I'm on the fence for AMD vs Intel - I've seen that Sandy/Ivy Bridge seems to benchmark better in gaming - but I also do AutoCAD and other <gasp> work-type stuff. And I don't know if new drivers or Windoze 8 will make a difference in AMD performance.

My (probably flawed) thinking is while the Intel is better for legacy games using one or two cores, the 8-core AMD will do better with more modern games and non-gaming applications.

My display is a single 52" TV with 1920x1080 native. I've never done multi-display before - I may explore that if my pretty Mitsubishi LCD fails me.

I'll move my Creative Titanium HD over from the old box for the audio.

I'm trying to get the best bang-for-the-buck - I'm trying to keep the build under $1500.

So I'd appreciate any comments on my current selections from Newegg - I'm hoping this will last me a few years again. I do plan to try OC'ing as best as these components & air cooling will permit:

Case: Antec DF-35
Power: Seasonic X650
MB: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
CPU: AMD FX-8150
Cooler: Noctua NH-D14
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB 1866
GPU: XFX FX-787A-CDFC Radeon 7870
HD1: Samsung 830 256GB
HD2: WD Black 2TB
DVD: Asus DRW-24B1ST

Nw333

Honorable
Jun 24, 2012
Youd still want an Intel processor.:) i5 3570K and Asrock Z77 Extreme4 will do much better than your current combo. AMD doesnt do well in modern games. Might have 8 cores but each core is twice as slow as a normal i5 core. What other kinds of "work" applications do you use? If they dont use up alot of RAM, you wont need 16GBs of it.

Nonsense