N00b needs help on first 'gaming' pc

asw84

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012
hi guys.

i have just started casually playing games on my pc, but it is evident the one i have now isn't really geared towards running anything after 2002.

the current set up is:
amd athlon 64 x2 6000+
asus m2n68-am+
2 GB ram
nvidia geforce 8400GS

I'm not after anything amazing, just something that will let me play COD or battlefield on reasonable settings at a usable frame rate. trying to play homefront on the pc i have now is impossible.

the rig i was looking at is this. please keep in mind i'm a total novice and dont know how to build a pc, so this is an of the shelf package from a store near by.

Intel Core i5-3550 3.30Ghz
Intel B75 Motherboard with USB3.0
8GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Western Digital or Seagate SATA 3.0 1TB
620W PSU
Sharkoon T28 Green USB 3.0 Gaming Case
integrated graphics.

is this a reasonable step up? i mainly use the pc for audio programs so graphics is bit of an after thought, but a graphics card down the track is an easy upgrade?

thanks for all your help in advance

cumi2k4

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2011
with your current spec, why not add a discrete graphic card? onboard graphic is will not even do "adequate" graphic. A $100 AMD HD7770 will do wonder with your card, even more with higher budget graphic card

edit: your system (both old and new) are capable of running 64bit OS, though the old one will not be able to run it smoothly/not optimized. With 8GB of memory, you should run 64bit OS to take advantage of the memory above 3.2GB

asw84

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012
the reason i was looking to upgrade was the old pc struggles to run newer audio programs like ableton live and sonar 10. as the main use for the pc is as a studio computer first and games second, i guess i can forgo graphic quality for a faster, more reliable system running smoothly on windows 7 64 bit to take advantage of the extra ram to load samples.