Sign in with
Your question

EIST & C1E - Idle multiplier

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
January 13, 2013 2:03:16 PM

Hi,

I've searched high and low on the internet to find an answer to my question, however I've had no succes. Here's a short discription of my issue:

I'm not really sure if it can be considered an issue, but I'd like to be certain.

I've been running a core i7 3820 for quite a few months, installed a Corsair H80i and overclocked it to 4.5GHz (1.3v Vcore, LLC=Auto). I've enabled EIST and C1E to save a few watts when my PC is idle. Whenever my PC is inactive however, Realtemp v3.70 always reports a changing multiplier. 125mhz*12 is the bare minimum, but it never settles down (jumps up to 125mhz*13-16 when idle), despite the CPU being between 0% and 0.5% load.
I used to own a core i7 870 @ 3.2Ghz and when my system was idle, the multiplier settled at the minimum value until I put load on the CPU. Everything other than that works fine, but I can't help but wonder if this could damage my CPU in the long run (the constant changing multiplier when idle).

Any input would be much appreciated.
a b à CPUs
January 13, 2013 4:01:34 PM

Have a look in the Control Panel - Power Options at the Minimum processor state. Set this to a low number like 5% if you want your CPU to use a low multi when idle.

If you want your CPU to be very efficient at idle then leave this setting at 100% and enable the C3 and C6 sleep states. If you do this, your CPU will spend 99% of its idle time asleep in the C6 state where power consumption is minimal. Many people still think you need a low multiplier when idle but when using C6, this is not true. It makes virtually no difference what CPU multiplier your CPU uses because each individual core should be spending over 99% of its time asleep.