Final advice on a $800 build

Ajanth

Honorable
Aug 28, 2012
hi, this is my first build and through the power of the internet I have chosen parts and I'm just worried if they are all compatible with each other. And if I need a CPU cooler? Also, is there a big difference between 3450 and 3550 that I should get a 3550 instead?Thank you.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/g4DG

Approximate Purchase Date: this week (the closer the better)

Budget Range: 750-850 After Rebates; Before Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Hd videos(watching,editing,burning) Folding@Home, surfing the internet
Are you buying a monitor: Yes 23-25" 1920x1080

Do you need to buy OS: Not sure, cant i just use a cracked version of win 7

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.ca, ncix.com, tigerdirect.ca

Parts Preferences: by brand or type I would like to upgrade to Intel CPU and 1 Dvd writer and 1 Dvd reader

Overclocking: no

SLI or Crossfire: no

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080,

Additional Comments:I would like a fast PC. I'd be using photoshop, play crysis 1&2, Bf3, dota 2.

Solution

1. OK that's fine.

2. 600W is fine as long as you don't plan to add a second video card.

3. No - the speed differences between the CPUs are so minor that overall you won't notice them. If you get anything above the 3450 it's the 3570K or bust.

g-unit1111

Titan

OP said they weren't going to overclock so that's not needed.

Although I don't get the use of two DVD drives - you really only need one anymore unless the second one is a BD-R burner. Maybe drop one of them and use the difference to upgrade your PSU to a Corsair TX650.

Ajanth

Honorable
Aug 28, 2012

I was getting two dvd drives to copy dvds and cds using nero and do i really need to upgrade to 650W or is 600W fine? Is there anything else that I should change in my build or is it good enough? And is it worth it to get 3550 rather than 3450?

g-unit1111

Titan

1. OK that's fine.