What components break easily during install?

foxh0und

Honorable
Aug 18, 2012
I am buying all of my components from Scan and they offer insurance where I can protect all items for installation so if I break something I can get a free replacement. This is my first build and I also have an I.T consultant who will be helping me build it. I believe with an I.T consultant who builds servers everyday I probably don't need the insurance, but I'd like to have peace of mind since anything might happen.

GPU: 2GB MSI GTX 660 Ti Power Edition
CPU: Intel Core i5 3570k + Coolmaster hyper 212 Evo CPU cooler
MOBO: MSI Z77A-G45
PSU: 650W Corsair Enthusiast TX V2
RAM: 8GB (2 x 4GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
SSD: 128GB OCZ Vertex 4
HDD: 1TB Seagate 7200 RPM
CASE: NZXT Phantom 410 Mid Tower
DVDRW: Sony AD-5280S-0B 24x
FANS: 140mm NZXT FZ-140mm LED 13 Blade, 2 x Arctic Cooling F12 120mm Case Fan

The things I believe won't need insurance are:
Fans, case, HDD, SSD, DVDRW, CPU cooler

The things I believe will need insurance are:
GPU, CPU, MOBO, RAM

I am unsure of the PSU, while it won't be affected by static, is it possible to bend pins or break it another way?
I'm also not completely use of the HDD and SSD, I've removed a HDD from a laptop before and I didn't see anything on it that would make it break easily, but SSD and normal HDD might be different.

if the package is damaged have the driver make notation of it. you can also refuse a damaged package. All major components should have a 30 day return for replacement at point of origin. after that the manufacturers warranty should be something like 3-5 years depending on the product. that should be made clear on the sellers site in the product description. if not look at manufacturers site. no need imo to pay more for something that should already be provided. seller sounds like a money grubbing scum bag.

foxh0und

Honorable
Aug 18, 2012