Sign in with
Your question

Video card upgrade?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 13, 2012 12:04:12 AM

hi, i built my current system back in 2009 and went with galaxy video cards which was a big mistake. they worked great for the first year then the first one died, had two running sli. i play world of warcraft and need a new video card, because after 10 to 20 minutes the current galaxy nvidia 9600gt overheats and i lose video. I can afford a card under $100 right now because its being bought as a gift for me. my system specs are

asus p6t deluxe version 2
intel i7 920
12gb kingston ram
2x 1tb western digital's in striped raid array
antec 850 watt psu

also the video card must be nvidia and have hdmi because i use a 46 inch sony bravia tv dedicated as a monitor. i used to be a computer technician, but have been away from it for awhile and don't have much time to research. thinking of going with this card, but would appreciate some advice.
MSI N430GT-MD4GD3 GeForce GT 430 (Fermi) 4GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

More about : video card upgrade

a b U Graphics card
July 13, 2012 12:12:52 AM

At around 100 bucks your going to have a challange finding any nvidia product that will out perfom the failing 9600gt. That GT430 will perform about the same maybe a tiny bit better.

I would look at the AMD6770 or the 7750. They will be twice as fast as teh gt430 and should drive the tv with HDMI and audio no problem.

m
l
Related resources
July 13, 2012 12:15:56 AM

I bought ati when i first got into computers back in 1998, and haven't bought another since. as far as i am concerned nvidia is the only thing available
m
l
a b U Graphics card
July 13, 2012 12:18:22 AM

Hate to say it, but that kind of prejudice is going to limit the amount of power you can get from nVidia in the sub-$100 market.
m
l
July 13, 2012 12:42:29 AM