AMD FX-6100 vs AMD FX-8350?

Scott82

Honorable
Jan 14, 2013
Hello,

Hi I just upgraded my system a few months ago to a FX-6100 from a very old Phenom II, along with 8 gigs of ram and a ATI 6850 vid card, and new AM3 motherobard as well.

I must say i am not impressed with how my software and games are running. I am a 3D Game Artist by trade so i use alot of Zbrush and 3DS Max. Im working with multiple programs open and a few million polygons on screen at once. Everything runs `extremely` slow and I was thinking it had to be my processor.

Can anyone shed some light on this, and how i might benefit from upgrading to a FX 8350. Thanks!

As an example, this is one of the current models ive been having trouble with. As you can see its 9 million polygons. It takes nearly 1 minute to undo something, and other functions just as long. 3DS Max is even slower. How much does processor power factor in to these types of programs?

70851.jpg

mclovits

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2012
It might benefit you a bit to upgrade, but not much. I'd try overclocking your 6100 a bit. Also, a graphics card upgrade is due, 3DsMax would probably benefit more from that than a processor upgrade, if you want to go hardcore get a Firepro or Quadro card, but if you are still gaming maybe a 6950/6950 or a 7870. My GTX 670 and i5 3570k was pretty effective at rendering, yet AMD seems to have a better architecture for rendering (processor-wise) So I'd say your GPU may be the culprit.

Well, the 6100 had no advantage over the phenom II. You'd have seen no improvement. I can't imagine why you'd have done that with piledriver about to release that was a huge mistake.

8350 will be better but you need to see what your software maker suggests, benchmarks for it, and gpu support

Scott82

Honorable
Jan 14, 2013