Sign in with
Your question

Computer Cases

Last response: in Components
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
September 15, 2001 12:45:03 PM

I want to try my luck at building a computer. Can someone recommend a good full tower computer case I should use. I want to use an Intel Pentium 4 2Ghz with an Intel 850 chipset, socket 478 motherboard. I'm thinking about using an Intel motherboard or an ASU motherboard if ASU ever produces an 850 chipset, socket 478 motherboard. I'm new at this, so any help on what full tower computer case I should buy for this configuration would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks. Miles

More about : computer cases

September 15, 2001 2:31:26 PM

The main advantage of Intel mobos is stablilty. They are VERY stable. Disadvantages are: performance, and lack of overclocking options. It's your choice. First off, you're gonna need a P4 power supply. If you've got cash, go with the Lian-Li PC70. Aluminum. Look also at the Antec 1040B, which is quite large, and black. Good Luck.

P.S. Why waste your money on a P4???

"If you teach a child to read, then he or her will be able to pass a literacy test" - George W.
September 15, 2001 4:49:52 PM

I have a Lian-Li PC60. It is an great case.
Related resources
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
September 16, 2001 1:10:23 AM

Thanks, Red. Why not a P4? What would you suggest instead?
September 16, 2001 1:25:42 AM

I would suggest an Athlon system. For similar performance, P4 system cost a lot more than an Athlon system.
September 16, 2001 1:43:25 AM

Intel systems = More stability, easier to build
AMD systems = More bang for the buck

I've owned both. Right now I have 3 AMD and 1 Intel setups.

-- Ah sh*t! sys64738 --
September 16, 2001 3:34:34 AM