Help - my computer doesn't boot

Hello,

I was using my computer today, when all of a sudden, it turned off. Now I cannot turn it back on, and it doesn't seem to be getting any power (ie. nothing happens when I hit the power button or switch the power on in the back, either). Here are my system specifications:

Athlon Thunderbird 1.3 GHZ processor
ECS K7VZA Motherboard
256MB PC133 RAM
40 GB 7200 RPM Maxtor Harddrive
Soundblaster live platinum 5.1 soundcard
ATI Radeon 64MB videocard
12x DVD rom Drive
16x10x40x Yamaha Burner
100MB Internal Zip drive
Floppy drive
(I forget the maker of my Ethernet card)

I have this with a 300 watt power supply; is that not enough power for this system? Could this be the problem? I have been running it for 3 months now, and nothing like this has happened (it hasn't ever overheated, for example). Any suggestions or tips? I don't have a voltmeter to check the power, but if it is just that I don't have enough power and the power supply is broken, which kind of power supply is recommended for a system like mine? If it is not the power supply, maybe the motherboard is dead? Also, I have one heatsink and fan on the processor (a CoolerMaster, I belive), one fan on the videocard, and one with the case. Thanks in advance for your help.
6 answers Last reply
More about help computer doesn boot
  1. If you are useing a power stripe check the reset button, or if you are using power straight from the wall outlet (very risky) check the circuit breaker. This sounds like strickly like a AC power issue. If I'm wrong tell me if you have power at all? Is the green light ON on your M/B? Does the fans turn OO on your M/B? Post again with these specifics.

JC-------<*){{{>{~~~~~
    Fisher of men