Would I regret buying the OEM Windows 7 edition?

logan832

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012
I am on the fence about getting the OEM, or full edition. OEM is half the price at $90, while the full edition would stretch my $950 budget for a custom computer. This is my first time ever building my own PC, and I probably will not upgrade for a year or two (I would end up buying a nicer GPU). As long as I can play most games on medium-high with min FPS around 20-30 for the next two years I would be fine.

From my understanding its locked to you motherboard. So this would mean if my motherboard broke, I would have to get the same exact model to re install it?

What are your experiences with this? Even if I did have to buy another one, I would break even compared to the full edition. Then again, I do not plan on upgrading to 8 so perhaps it would be good to have the full version to be future proof. I am so 50/50.

If needed for whatever reason, this is my part list.
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/ggt7

malbluff

Honorable
It's true that the OEM is intended for single use, whereas the retail version can be used with up to 3 mobos. If you have the OEM, and your mobo fails, you would normally be permitted to re-instal it on the replacement. I've never done it myself, you may have to provide some info, to back it up, I'm not sure. If you are LIKELY to upgrade mobo, in the near future, it can work out cheaper, in the long run , to get retail version.
On your build, I note you have an i5-2500K, linked to a z77 motherboard, but no cooler. The Z77 motherboard is designed specifically for Ivybridge processors. The 2500 will work, fine, but, if you are going to use i5-2500K, you had just as well use a z68 mobo, as you won't get any more from the z77. A i5-3570K and z77 mobo is a much better combination, for only about $10 more.
Also, don't forget, if you want to overclock either processor, you will need to use an aftermarket cooler. The one supplied with the CPU's is not adequate for that.