Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Should I upgrade my rig?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
January 16, 2013 12:13:15 PM

Hi all, this is my first time on this forum so forgive me if I sound like a total noob.

Anyhoo, I am wondering if I should rebuild my current gaming rig as I am getting pretty bad performance from some games I play (mostly BF3) and everything seems really slow even if I am just trying to open a folder in windows. I know part of the problem is that I am still using Vista and it sometimes steal all of my ram so my justification is that since I am going to reinstall everything anyway, i might as well rebuild my rig.

my current rig:
AMD Phenom 9650 x 4 @ 2.3Ghz
4gb DDR2 800Mhz
AMD Radeon 6950

Suggestion?

More about : upgrade rig

a b à CPUs
January 16, 2013 12:46:10 PM

Install windows 7 or 8
m
l
January 16, 2013 1:07:28 PM

or Vista with latest service pack.
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

a b à CPUs
January 16, 2013 2:08:49 PM

mavx4 said:
Hi all, this is my first time on this forum so forgive me if I sound like a total noob.

Anyhoo, I am wondering if I should rebuild my current gaming rig as I am getting pretty bad performance from some games I play (mostly BF3) and everything seems really slow even if I am just trying to open a folder in windows. I know part of the problem is that I am still using Vista and it sometimes steal all of my ram so my justification is that since I am going to reinstall everything anyway, i might as well rebuild my rig.

my current rig:
AMD Phenom 9650 x 4 @ 2.3Ghz
4gb DDR2 800Mhz
AMD Radeon 6950

Suggestion?

-Definitely upgrade windows.
-Your RAM is ok for the moment being
-Overclock the CPU to at least 2.6 GHz
-The graphics card is above average so keep that!