Looking to upgrade my computer in any way $400/500

Status
Not open for further replies.

phanta

Honorable
Jul 15, 2012
Hello,
Sorry I am a complete beginner to upgrading computers and stuff like that.
I have an old computer in my basement and I wanted to upgrade it (people says its cheaper). I want to know what i can upgrade to and the prices. I am hoping to spend only $400/500 on upgrading to gaming computer. Here are my Computer Specs. I am copying things off of HWiNFO.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Computer Brand Name: Hewlett-Packard HP Compaq dc5750 Microtower

Motherboard Model: Hewlett-Packard 0A64h

Processor Name: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+

Original Processor Frequency: 2000.0 MHz

CPU Brand Name: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+

Motherboard Chipset: ATI RADEON Xpress 200 (RS482) + SB600

Motherboard Slots:2xPCI, 1xPCI Express x1, 1xPCI Express x16

PCI Express Version Supported:v1.0

BIOS Manufacturer:Compaq

BIOS Date:05/18/07

BIOS Version:786E3 v02.25

Super-IO/LPC Chip: SMSC SCH5317

Total Memory Size: 1 GByte

Video Chipset: ATI/AMD Radeon X1300 (RV516 PRO)

Video Memory: 256 MBytes of DDR2 SDRAM

Video Card: ATI/AMD Radeon X1300/X1550 (RV516) [ATI/AMD]

Video Bus: PCIe v1.0 x16 (2.5 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)

Memory Bus Width: 128-bit

PSU: 300w

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know that the computer is bad. I just want to upgrade it. It sounds fun.
Sorry if I posted wrong/not needed information, I didn't know what to post for specs
and went and posted everything that seemed important. If you need anythign that i forgot, please tell me. Thanks for the help!

Solution
ps has 32 amps. should be plenty for that....... and even adding a video card later if you think you need it ( one posted in first post )

if you have the operating system you might be able to fit that SSD back into the picture. you'll have to look.