mrwoodys

Honorable
Sep 4, 2012
Hey guys,1st time coming here,and i was wondering if it would be possible for me to ask you to look over my build. I need it for general web surfing and gaming,i don't encode videos or anything else like that,plus im a complete novice when it comes to computers in most ways so could we use layman's terms for anything technical.

Intel Core i3 3220 IvyBridge S1155 3.3GHz
2GB MSI R7850 Power Edition 2GD5/OC
8GB (2x4GB) Corsair DDR3 XMS3
550W XFX Pro Series Core Edition
Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H, Intel Z77, S 1155
Coolermaster Elite 430

Im trying to do this on a budget of £500 or less. Currently i'm at £510,but i guess i can forgive the extra tenner. Is there anything i should change? (i have my hard drive in my current computer which i hope to use,same goes with the optical drive too)

Thanks for any and all replies.

mrwoodys

Honorable
Sep 4, 2012
Thank you for the reply. Just another quick question. Will it be as easy as just connecting my old hard drive and booting up? cos i was wondering if im going to have any issues without wiping it and probably having to buy a new OS too.

mrwoodys

Honorable
Sep 4, 2012
Oh great,i didn't factor that into my budget,i think i may have to leave building this for a while longer until have quite a bit of extra money. :(

Only real question in my mind: Is there some particular reason to pair the i3 processor with a z77 motherboard?

The chipset of the motherboard does not affect the speed of your computer; Rather, it adds features (like overclocking, PCIe3, and such which simply are not supported by your CPU), and you may be better served with your budget looking at something with a B75 or H71 chipset.

Mind you, what you picked will work, it is simply a matter of having features supported by the mobo which will be inaccessible due to your CPU selection.

mikerockett

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2012