Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading my PC - Help and knowledge needed

Last response: in Components
January 19, 2013 10:16:25 AM

Hello community.
First of all I'd like to apologize for just dumping the thread here, I couldn't find anywhere else where it seemed fit. Move it or delete it if need be.

The other day I tried to play BF3 with my friends, but even at the lowest graphic settings, my FPS was quite bad.
I'm now looking to upgrade, rather than buying a whole new machine - if possible.

Here's my current specs:
Intel Core Duo CPU E8500 at 3.16GHz
4GB RAM (DDR2)
ATI 4850 HD Graphics-card

(Running on Vista 32-Bit)

If you need more information, let me know.

I was wondering if any of you could judge, what needs to be upgraded to make my computer a bit faster. I'm a complete noob on the subject.

I found that I'm able to upgrade to 8GB DDR2 RAM for about 60$, but I guess I'd have to upgrade to a 64bit system to run more than 4GB, right?
January 19, 2013 7:26:37 PM

personally, i'd ditch vista, first and foremost. go for windows 7 64 bit. your graphics card is good enough to run BF3 on low-mid settings getting low (but steady) FPS (i had one in a stock machine quite a while back, it seemed to be OK).

your biggest bottleneck will be your CPU from what I can see, so you would most likely be looking at a new MoBo/CPU combo (new ram also). even a budget one will help massively. what's your price range and i will see what i can find for you when i have a moment.
January 19, 2013 7:33:56 PM

No, his video card. I run on my e6750 3.4Ghz a 5770 witch is notably faster than the 4850 and i can play the game with 2Gb of RAM. Well the CPU is also a part of the problem. Try to think of a new motherboard, RAM and CPU. Find a budget and get back to us with some numbers. Or upgrade the video card first. I did that back when i had the 2600xt and the core i cpu's ware out.