Sign in with
Your question

Could these symptoms indicate CPU failure ?

Last response: in CPUs
January 19, 2013 7:44:31 PM

The initial problem was that the PC powered up for no more than 2 seconds then restarted ad infinitum. I looked inside and noticed 3 capacitors on the graphics card had blown their top. I replaced the graphics card but could not get any life out of the PC. I then replaced the mobo and PSU with new ones.

Now, the symptom is that the POST display only appears 50% of the time. Also, the CPU fan takes a few seconds to start properly after an initial jolt. Also the BIOS indicates a Vcore power failure.

Into the new mobo I am plugging a new graphics card, a new PSU, a 4 year old CPU and 4 year old RAM. No other components.

I have a PSU tester that indicates all voltages are within 5% of target and the power good signal returns in 290 ms.

I've been repairing computers for a few years but never had a CPU failure before. Could it be this rather than a faulty mobo ? I don't have a spare CPU to test with :-(

Eugene.

More about : symptoms cpu failure

a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
January 19, 2013 9:24:51 PM

Hi :) 

Cpu failure means NO START ...ABSOLUTELY DEAD...NOTHING...

I would guess its your motherboard...

All the best Brett :) 
m
l
January 19, 2013 11:09:06 PM

eugeneg said:
The initial problem was that the PC powered up for no more than 2 seconds then restarted ad infinitum. I looked inside and noticed 3 capacitors on the graphics card had blown their top. I replaced the graphics card but could not get any life out of the PC. I then replaced the mobo and PSU with new ones.

Now, the symptom is that the POST display only appears 50% of the time. Also, the CPU fan takes a few seconds to start properly after an initial jolt. Also the BIOS indicates a Vcore power failure.

Into the new mobo I am plugging a new graphics card, a new PSU, a 4 year old CPU and 4 year old RAM. No other components.