Brand new computer boots to black screen

u2king13

Honorable
Jul 18, 2012
Hello all, this is my first time posting to a forum concerning computer related help. I wasn't sure where else to go. I've contacted the manufacturer, but they haven't responded yet.

I recently bought a new computer, CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2099 Desktop PC. ( Here's a link to the exact computer on Newegg)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883229287

I received it yesterday, and turned it on. Now, I have to say I'm using my TV as my monitor, until I buy a dedicated monitor for it. It's plugged into the hdmi port. (My roommate uses the same setup, so I didn't think it would be a problem) When it turned on, I got the usual splash in the beginning of the bios, and pressing f8 and such if I needed to get into it. I left that alone and let it continue. It displayed the windows logo, then looked like it was about to take that next step into loading, when it just sat on a black screen. I restarted a few times, trying to get past it. Nothing. I loaded into safe mode, and that worked fine.

To make a long story short, I'm suspecting it's graphics card related. Here's why. After re installing windows from my recovery cd, it boots fine into the integrated vga graphics. The second I insert the graphics card cd and install drivers, and restart, it boots into black again. I don't know if this is just my HD tv causing display problems, or what. It's a brand new computer, so haven't made any changes to what's listed in the link.

Do you think I'm correct in my guess, and what do you think I could do to fix this? At the moment I don't have another monitor to test it on, so I'm really hoping that's not it. If it truly might be the cause, I'll borrow one tonight, and test it.

Thank you for your time.