Sign in with
Your question

Building a new system, need part recommendations.

Last response: in Systems
September 6, 2012 12:04:29 AM

Things I need:
Case (I have an old Dell Case, but it looks like a hassle to work in.)

Power supply (I have an the Dell powers supply that came in my old case, but not sure it would be strong enough for a new system).

Ram

Video Card

Motherboard

Other stuff I've forgotten (I'm pretty new to this).

Things I have that system needs to be compatible with:

SATA Hard Drive
Asus VS248 (Decent monitor, but has ghosting issues which may be due to graphics card compatibility. Hopefully somebody who has the same monitor can recommend a graphics card that works in their system)

Fortunately, I don't need an operating system, keyboard, mouse, speakers etc.

Looking to build a new-game capable system for 500-750 bucks. The biggest issue I'm concerned about is getting parts that aren't compatible or don't work well together, so ideally recommenders have a similar complete system rather than just good experiences with an individual part.

Timeframe is ASAP. Current system needs to run checkdisk on startup...
September 6, 2012 12:26:13 AM

CPU: AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz
Video Card: GTX 550 TI
RAM: Corsair 8gb dual RAM sticks (low profile)
PSU: Go with a Corsair - 450W+
Case: Any case that is ascetically pleasing and isn't found to be too enclosed, you might be able to get a deal with the case and PSU in one
Motherboard: I recommend ASUS, don't go too cheap, keep it generally above $120

Total: $500. - 650.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
September 6, 2012 12:35:23 AM
Related resources
September 6, 2012 4:56:07 PM

Thanks for the quick replies.

O1die, have you used those components together? Compatibility is the thing I'm most worried about. Also, any thoughts on that video card working with my Asus monitor? I currently get some annoying ghosting effects that I think come from it disliking my current video card.