Lock mechanism doesn't work on am3 cpu on am3+ board

HBTechnoDude

Honorable
Aug 9, 2012
So the problem started when I had to underclock my cpu because it was getting way above reccommended temps idle. Like 80C in amd overdrive. So I got a cooler master 212 evo. When It didn't work after I cleaned the thermal paste off with cotton swabs and alchohol(making sure not to bend the pins and get thermal paste on the pins) I put new thermal paste on it and put the cooler on. It wouldn't boot to bios and I used the advice about going through all the parts and making sure they all worked. It was just working an hour before that though and so I thought I must have messed up the cpu. So I unscrewed the heatsink and lifted it up and it ripped the cpu out bending the pins. I made them almost perfectly straight using a sewing needle.(really effective using the pointy part to make it mostly straight and the hole to finish it). Now when I put the cpu back in I feel like its not going in all of the way. I don't know what to do.... I also made sure I put the corner with the special arrow on the corner with the special arrow on the mobo.
CPU: Phenom x4 965 BE
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3901#ov
The bios is completely updated.
It says "Support for AMD AM3 Phenom™ II processors / AMD Athlon™ II processors "
on their website so....

First and foremost. This might have saved you a lot of trouble. I had the UD5 variant of that exact same motherboard originally, that board, and others are known to get false temp readings from AMD Overdrive for some reason (Overdrive says the cores are substantially hotter than they actually are). Use Hwmonitor for more reliable core temp readings in the future.