Sign in with
Your question

Gaming PC build ~$800 Suggestions

Last response: in Systems
September 6, 2012 10:28:05 PM

Hey everyone,

I'm new here but I have been lurking for a couple of weeks. I've historically been an off and on console gamer.

Now I'm about to graduate college and the HP entertainment "student" laptop I bought as a freshman is starting to show its age. I bought it new for around $750, so in considering my options around that price range, I figured I could just piece together a great system for around the same price.

Now I'm completely new to building computers. All the knowlege that I currently have is from researching -mainly this site- and watching videos. A week ago I couldn't have told you the difference between CPU and GPU haha. I've played plenty of PC games throughout the years, but its always been a battle of getting anything to work on any computer I've ever owned. The highlight of my PC gaming was getting HL2 to work on my family's Gateway in 2004 (I still don't know how it managed). It think the required steam download for the game took like 15 hours over my dialup line at the time.

Anyways In this Build I'm looking at a budget of around $700-$800, and about $200 or less for a monitor.

I've compiled this rough list of parts that I think are what I want. I don't really understand how everything works, I really just want a good system that will last me around 2-3 years of high setting gaming.

My biggest concern is that with the next gen xbox and PS on the horizon, how will my set up compare? Will I be left in the dust? I know PC gamers always say the consoles are so far behind, but how is it that a 2005 xbox can still play BF3? Even if it is low settings, I don't think a PC build around 2005/2006 could play BF3 at all, let alone look like it does on current gen consoles. Maybe i'm wrong, but that is what is confusing to me...

Okay enough rambling, here is my current parts list