First time Builder: Gaming $500-550 (AMD vs Intel)

ctomster

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2012
Hi everybody. I'm pretty new to the forums. I decided to build a computer a couple weeks ago. I have been reading through the forums and I finally decided to try a post of my own. I am a poor college student with rudimentary computer knowledge so any help would be GREATLYappreciated!! :)

Some general Questions I have..

1. I hope to buy parts soon, and my budget is capped at $600. Do you think it is worth to start looking for parts now or to wait until bigger sales such as Black Friday? Are there any other upcoming hardware sales or seasonal times in which prices drop?

2. The only reason why I don't take the Tom's $500 build is because I was hoping to make a better/cheaper cpu through online and store deals! Possibly buying parts piece by piece.. Of course I would start with a Mobo and a processor.. Thoughts on this?

3. AMD vs Intel. From what I've learned Intel is superior if you have more money to spend. What kind of processor/mobo do you think I should get? Specific suggestions would be wonderful!! I'd prefer something reliable.
Also something I can eventually upgrade would be of great importance to me. This PC will be a large investment for me and I hope to improve upon it. (I am leaning towards Intel only because it is a larger company!)
This is the hardest part for me!!!

4. What are the top Graphics cards for this price range? =D

-----------------

Approximate Purchase Date: By the end of Nov 2012, the latest.

Budget Range: (e.g.: 500-550) Before rebate and after shipping. $600 Max!

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming!

Are you buying a monitor: Yes (maybe craigslist)

Parts to Upgrade: I basically Need to buy EVERYTHING except for a mouse.

Do you need to buy OS: I think I can find a copy for free somewhere.. =P

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: No preference

Parts Preferences: Intel or AMD?

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe