Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I7 3770k or i5 3570k for Office and Entertainment?

Last response: in CPUs
January 22, 2013 7:18:35 AM

Hi All,

This is my first question here and am really seeking out for all your valuable help in buying out a PC primarily for Home usage but with some office work to do at nights.

By profession am a Software Tester and buying this PC mainly to work on the below.

1. Large testing tools like QTP 11 (Quick Test Pro) and Load Runner 11 - Usage: 1-2 hrs max; 3-4 times a week
2. Visual Studio 2010 for randomly developing small windows desktop based applications as a learning curve. - Usage: 1-2 hrs max; 3-4 times a week.
3. Beginner in Gaming; just want to get started with it for the only sake of little fun - Usage: 1-2 hrs max; once in a week
4. Photoshopping; just want to get started with it for the only sake of little fun - Usage: 1-2 hrs max; once in a week
5. Browsing, Surfing, Movies, Music, Personal Data Management, Heavy Downloading (Music, Movie & Softwares via torrents) - Usage: All the time when not doing the above activities; 3-4 hrs max; daily

My considerations:
1. I was interested to buy a high end CPU to accomplish all the above tasks with ease and super fast.
2. Would be using this PC for at least 6-7 years and would not be spending again on upgrading any of the processors, motherboards or graphic cards.
3. Habit of opening and working on multiple windows at a time. Lets say: around 25-30 chrome tabs, 6-7 excel sheets, 3-4 word documents, 10-12 folder windows, 6-8 other windows applications.

Request you all to please suggest the following considering that I feel pretty uncomfortable working on slower CPU's with late response.

1. i7-3770K or i5-3570K or any other?
2. Best suitable Motherboard (preferably Intel or if not any other)?
3. Suggested Graphics card?
4. Recommended RAM?
5. Hard drive: I was thinking of Seagate Barracuda 1TB

Any other thoughts..?

Regards
Maneesh (from India)
January 22, 2013 7:47:30 AM