Need input on first build

tmmccloud

Honorable
Sep 7, 2012
I am trying to get a good desktop gaming build keeping under 800$ budget. I have never built a desktop before so need to get some opinions on this possible build. I play games mostly like Elder Scrolls Skyrim, WoW, Diablo II, Starcraft II, Modern Warfare. Hopefully I didnt mess this up to bad or miss a bunch!!

GRAPHICS CARD: SAPPHIRE 100355LCL RADEON HD 7850 200.00
CPU: INTEL I5 2500K 200.00
MOTHERBOARD: ASROCK Z77 EXTREME4 134.99
MEMORY: G.SKILL ARES SERIES 8GB 240-PIN DDR3 1600 FREE
HDD: WD CAVIAR BLUE WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 69.99
PSU: RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-530SS 530W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V 39.99
CASE: ROSEWILL CHALLENGER BLACK GAMING ATX MID TOWER 49.99
OPTICAL DRIVE: ASUS 24X DVD BURNER 19.99
TOTAL: 711.00

malbluff

Honorable
I would recommend changing CPU to i5-3570K. Whilst the motherboard will work with the 2500K, it is designed to get the best out of the 3570K. There is very little difference in price, and the 3570K is better, in most respects.
Raidmax aren't very good PSU's. You should change that. If budget will allow, either Seasonic 530W, or Corsair Builder Series 500W, are reasonable choices (Seasonic is better). A rubbish PSU is quite likely to die, and kill half your other components, with it!
Graphics card is pretty good for your games, certainly for reasonably high settings, as long as you don't have to have "ultra". More is always better, if you've got the budget, but that's more than adequate.

g-unit1111

Titan
I would recommend changing CPU to i5-3570K. Whilst the motherboard will work with the 2500K, it is designed to get the best out of the 3570K. There is very little difference in price, and the 3570K is better, in most respects.

Actually on that kind of budget I would not get an unlocked CPU. I'd go for an i5-3450 and H77, then put the money into upgrading your GPU to a Radeon 7870 or 7950.