Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Coolermaster extreme Duo 650w good enough ?

Last response: in Components
January 22, 2013 11:17:22 AM

Hey guys, this is my first time posting at Tom`s hardware :) .
Firstly , here is my system:

mobo: DP67BG-P67 ~ Intel Burrage
cpu: intel i7 2600k @ 3.40GHz (no overclock)[With a CoolerMaster HYPER N620 cooler]
ram: 2x4GB KVR1333D3N9 ~ Kingston brand
psu: Coolermaster eXtreme power duo 650w
fx: Forsa 8600 gt 1GB
case: CoolerMaster 690
hdd: 2 x 500gb
2 x 80gb
cooling: cpu - has a CM Hyper N620
case - has 6 other 12cm fans in.[3 standard black, 2 green, 1 blue]
- I have a slot cooler, the VIZO propellers.

So to the problem, I`ve built and upgraded this system from parts over the years I bought with birthday/Christmas/work money, and I`m finally going to buy myself a graphics card. :D 
So last week I found a guy selling his Asus Gtx480 for a good price, hes shown me it works and all, so that`s not a problem.
The problem is that it needs an 8-pin AND 6-pin power connecter. My psu only has 2x6-pin connectors. I`ve read around and can`t find any reviews or information about my psu and if it could run this FX card without any problems. I do have an adapter to change 2 molex plugs into an 8-pin plug. So if my psu isn`t powerfull enough, im going to have to save and upgrade it first :/ .
I would love some advice...
Hope to hear from you guys soon :) .

More about : coolermaster extreme duo 650w good

Best solution

January 22, 2013 12:04:33 PM

you will need a better psu as i have a gtx 480 and they suck lots of power from the +12 rails and your psu supplies 36 amps across both rails 18amps each and that card requires 42 amps to be available in the +12v rails Sorry :) 
a c 308 ) Power supply
January 22, 2013 12:08:25 PM

wakoavo said:
Hey guys, this is my first time posting at Tom`s hardware :) .
Firstly , here is my system:

mobo: DP67BG-P67 ~ Intel Burrage