robbyv17

Honorable
Sep 7, 2012
Hello,

I am not only new this site, I am new to building computers. I would really appreciate it if you could give me some idea of what would be enough computer to handle my needs. Essentially, the HTPC will be used to run Linux (XBMCbunto perhaps), SABnbzd, sickbeard, couchpotato, and some web browsing.

Approximate Purchase Date: This weekend, if you guys guide me in the right direction.

Budget Range: $300-400 After Rebates; After Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Downloading/watching movies (1080p), browsing the web (including HD streaming from Nexflix, if possible...not necessary though). I will not be using this for gaming.

Are you buying a monitor: No, I will connect to my TV.

Parts to Upgrade: I will need everything, though I do have a large hard drive (I have a 3TB 3.0 USB external).

Do you need to buy OS: No; I will be using Linux

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Anything reputable with a good return policy, just in case

Parts Preferences: Seeing as how I have a 3TB external hard drive, I am thinking that I would like a 120/128 GB SSD. I suppose I could go to half that size if you think it'll be adequate. Also, I don't think I need an optical drive...I will use my PS3 to play DVDs when needed.

Overclocking: I don't think this will be necessary...correct me if I'm mistaken, though.

SLI or Crossfire: Again, I don't think that this will be necessary.

Your Monitor Resolution: Will use with a 1080p TV.

Additional Comments: I would like it to be relatively quiet and not too power hungry (I will like to keep it on 24/7). Also, I have enough room for either a mini ITX or a micro ATX build, so whichever you think is better...

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: I'm tired of paying for cable, so I want to "cut the cord," but still be able to get the TV shows I like, as well as being able to download and watch HD movies.