XLoneDragonX

Honorable
Sep 7, 2012
For Christmas this year the wife and I are planning on getting our kids Smart TV's and building a Media Server for the house network. While I have plenty of experience building and maintaining home pc's and some experience running a server, I am kind of at a loss as to what hardware I need or would be good for such a build. Any server we build needs to potentially be able to handle simultaneous streaming to 4 devices (the 3 smart tv's and an xbox 360 or PS3). I am looking at rackmount server cases with hotswapable drivebays for ease of expansion. More bays the better to allow for future expansion.

Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: Starting Beginning of October

Budget Range: $3000 after taxes/shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Media Streaming/Transcoding, data storage

Are you buying a monitor: No

Do you need to buy OS: Yes (looking at WHS or Win8)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts:
NewEgg
TigerDirect
Any other reliable site suggested

Parts Preferences: Intel for CPU, all others none

Overclocking: No

Additional Comments:
Future expansion is very important
Simultaneous streaming is much preferred, again 3 smart tv's and Xbox360
Possible transcoding for a PS3 (game systems are on same None Smart HDTV so might just be easier to stream to Xbox)

Smart TV's we are planning on getting
Philips - 4000 Series - 26" Class - LED - 720p - 60Hz - Smart - HDTV

EDIT:
Currently looking at these parts here:

NORCO RPC-4224 4U Rackmount Server Case with 24 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS Drive Bays

ASRock Z68 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

SUPERMICRO AOC-SAT2-MV8 64-bit PCI-X133MHz SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Controller Card 1 of these to start, motherboard has lots of additional connections

XION AXP-1000K14XE 1000W ATX SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80+ Bronze Modular Power Supply

Intel Core i5-3350P Ivy Bridge 3.1GHz (3.3GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80637i53350P