Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Using my desktop PC as a server...

Last response: in Components
January 22, 2013 9:18:48 PM

Hi guys,

My dad uses MS Outlook on a laptop and a desktop. As you may or may not know, Outlook stores all it's data in a PST file, which you can store wherever you want. He wants his laptop and desktop to "share" the same PST file. He would prefer it if the PST file was stored on the desktop, and if he could access it on his laptop wherever he is, as long as he's got an internet connection.

Any suggestions on how he could do this?

I'm quite new to this stuff.

More about : desktop server

Best solution

January 22, 2013 9:48:15 PM

No, that's not something you can do with Outlook. I know, I've tried.

You can put it to a common network connection so that two machines can access it at the same time, but if one has it open and the other tries to open it, it messes up the whole configuration due to file locks.

On top of that, PST files cannot be made available offline, meaning the laptop would have to be connected to the local network if it were to open Outlook. If you open it when it doesn't have access to the PST file, it messes up the whole configuration and you'll have to redo it. It's ugly.

And finally, network performance on PST files is horrible. It causes multiple errors and latency problems every time you work with it.

It's better to configure Outlook to not remove the mail messages from the mail server when it picks up the mail, but only remove it if it is deleted locally first. This would allow (mostly) the same mail content for both computers. There will be some issues with mail on one machine and not on another, mostly from deleted items that were deleted on one but didn't replicate to the other.