Status
Not open for further replies.

DMRedhead

Honorable
Sep 8, 2012
I am having trouble choosing the right cpu because I have found out that my motherboard isnt very good when it comes to the FX-8150 even though it states it AM3+ compatible. So I would like to know whether I should stick with my mother board ( GA-MA770T-UD3) or get an intel board and an intel cpu ? I am very new to all of this so I dont know how straight forward this all is, here are my system specs currently.
Cpu: CPU Type DualCore AMD Athlon II X2 270, 3638 MHz (17 x 214)
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 (2048 MB)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3
Case: Coolermaster Elite 310
Memory: Not sure about this one, I used the scanner off www.crucial.com and came up with this Memory Type: DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 PC3-8500, DDR3 PC3-14900, DDR3 PC3-17000, DDR3 (ECC)
Maximum Memory: 16GB
Currently Installed Memory: 8GB
Total Memory Slots: 4
Available Memory Slots: 2
Erm, I think thats it.
So any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Also I am very new to all of this so I have never installed a Cpu or motherboard so some advice, links etc on that would be nice. Also price range is about £300

willyroc

Honorable
Jul 22, 2012
At least an i5 Intel; anything lower and your CPU will bottleneck your system. Your GPU is too strong for your CPU at the moment.

DMRedhead

Honorable
Sep 8, 2012
Okay, and motherboard ? Would I have to change memory etc as well ? Like if people could link some products to like amazon or whatever that would greatly help :) Like what you would use in this situation, so motherboard, memory,cpu etc

ctomster

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2012
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance
LGA 1155, Intel P67 Express PCH
$100

Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
3.4 GHz (3.8 GHz Max Turbo Boost), Quad-Core, 6 MB Shared L3 Cache
$230
You could probably go higher since your budget would allow you to do so.

RAM you shouldn't need to replace.

Anything else? :)

DMRedhead

Honorable