New Build for Photo-editing/scanning etc.

psychoanalyst

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2012
Hello,

I am new to both this forum and the world of DIY computers. I have little knowledge about the details of computer build, but I am extremely curious and very quick at learning/picking up. So, I figured I'd bounce my questions off the excellent folks here and get some feedback and fine-tune my initial build.

I am sick and tired of my Lenovo Z360....its keep hanging and the fan is constantly in over-drive. My main uses of the computer are for scanning of my film negatives and positives (slide). I scan large 120 and 4x5 negatives and especially when scanning 48 bit color, my computer is literally panting. In addition, opening the scanned negs in Photoshop takes forever.

So, I am looking to build a system primarily around that application. Other than that, I want it primarily for viewing movies, browsing the net etc. I am NOT a gamer.

My budget is ~$700-$800 (max) without peripherals like monitor, keyboard, mouse etc. I have already have those.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: 1 month

Budget Range: $700-$800 shipped

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Photoshop, film scanning, surfing the internet, watching movies)

Are you buying a monitor: No

Do you need to buy OS: Not really. I can get this for free.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.com or equivalent

Parts Preferences: Intel processor, rest flexible

Overclocking: Don't think so

SLI or Crossfire: No idea/don't think so.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is the initial build I came up with: