Status
Not open for further replies.

eomcaleb

Honorable
Jan 14, 2013
I was looking at Intel CPUs and I'm pretty new with all the computer stuff.
So I was hoping you could clarify me some things.. :(

From what I understand, there are two "divisions" to Intel CPUs: Pentium and Celeron?
Is Pentium the lower version of Celeron?
So for every microarchitecture, (1st gen, Sandy Bridge, Ivy Bridge) there is pentium and Celeron?
What is Xeon then??

Solution
Nehalem is the 1st generation Core i3/i5/i7 CPUs, then comes Sandy Bridge and then Ivy Bridge. Haswell will be the 4th generation coming this June.

Nehalem is socket 1156. While Intel generally allows sockets to live for 2 generations socket 1156 was replace by socket 1155 which is used by Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge. Haswell will be socket 1150.

Intel has spent a lot of money marketing the Celeron (a.k.a. Celery) and Pentium names so they simply continue to use it. Celeron was always reserved for the weakest CPUs and still remains so. While the Pentium brand name was for Intel high end CPUs up until mid 2006, it has been relegated to the value segment when Intel released the Core 2 Duo / Quad series. The names didn't last long...

montosaurous

Honorable
Aug 21, 2012
For every architecture for the last few years there has been a Celeron, Pentium, i3, i5, and i7. Xeons are CPUs built for servers and workstations. Celerons are a little bit lower end Pentiums, and Pentiums are essentially i3's without Hyper threading.

PassMark

Distinguished
The naming conventions have been changing every year. So it is pretty much impossible to know the performance of a CPU (or socket compatibility) from the model number. The naming is a complete mess to be honest.

There are now about 2000 different models of x86 CPUs available. Far too many for anyone to remember all the details.