Sign in with
Your question
Closed

CPU @ 61Celcius at idle

Last response: in CPUs
January 25, 2013 11:02:35 PM

Hi all,

Just built a new pc. MSI 970A-G46 Mobo, Phenom II x6 1045t. Everything seemed to be working fine. I noticed the cpu fan seemed to be running fast constantly so I went into my BIOS to check the cpu temp. I left it in bios for about 10mins and the cpu stayed at 60-62 Celcius. From other threads I believe this is an abnormally high temp. Is it? If so what do I do?

More about : cpu 61celcius idle

a b à CPUs
January 25, 2013 11:12:46 PM

you need to re-seat your CPU cooler. use only a pea size amount of thermal paste

also have at least two case fans (one intake and one exhaust)
a b à CPUs
January 25, 2013 11:37:28 PM

Re-cement your heatsink/fan...
Related resources
January 26, 2013 12:08:56 AM

Ok So I tried that and it's still doing the same thing. I have no experience with thermal paste though so I'm not sure if I did it right. What now?
a b à CPUs
January 26, 2013 12:10:46 AM

Sathid said:
Ok So I tried that and it's still doing the same thing. I have no experience with thermal paste though so I'm not sure if I did it right. What now?

Hi :) 

Lots of vids on Youtube on how to do it....

Or explain how YOU did it to us...

All the best Brett :) 
January 26, 2013 12:13:55 AM

I followed the instructions that came with the thermal paste. There's a sticker with the little cut out square that you stick on the bottom of the heatsink. The I put a thin line of paste at one edge of the sticker and used the applicator card to spread a thin layer onto the heatsink. Then I seated the heatsink on the cpu straight down and attached it.
January 26, 2013 12:29:57 AM