First Gaming Rig Build - HELP!

mattage101

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012
This is my first build attempt and I just wanted to make sure the parts I have chosen fit together nicely and whether or not they'll run at their optimum or swapping one part with another will help the overall performance of my machine. I want a cheap but powerful machine than can perform at a high level for a long period of time. The games that I'll typically be playing on my pc would be Guild Wars 2, Steam games like ( Half life, counterstrike, gmod) and the witcher 2, bearing all this in mind have a chosen the right parts for me? cheers in advance! :D

Specs:

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H
CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 550
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
PSU: Thermaltake W0382RU
Case: Cooler Master RC-430-KWN1
Fan: Cooler Master R4-L2R-20AC-GP 120mm
Fan: Cooler Master R4-L4S-10AB-GP 140mm
CPU HEATSINK/FAN: Corsair CAFA50 A50
Cooler Master Thermal Compound

jk47_99

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2012
Looks ok but the graphics card is a little weak, how much is your total budget? I would suggest getting at least a ATI 7850.

Also, do you need a hard drive, windows 7, or a monitor?

spat55

Distinguished
Get a slightly more powerful GPU, a radeon 7850 will do well in their. If you need to save some money get the GA-Z77-D3H, slightly worse but you'd be much better off with a 7850 than a 550.

mattage101

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012

I already have separate HDD's from other machines and got the monitors sorted aswell :) Just wanted to know whether the parts were right for each other. My budget is 500 which means I can afford to up the GPU can someone explain to me why this card is a little weak? So as we stand the only thing harming the performance of my machine would be the GPU and I'll change the thermal paste :) cheers guys

mattage101

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012