New build for photoshop (99%) and gaming (1%)

flyoverfred

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012
Hi all,

I've never built a PC before and need a new one. It will be pretty much used for photoshop and a tiny amount of gaming. I don't need a monitor.

I only edit photos and do no video editing, I believe hyperthreading in photoshop is mostly used in video editing.

As a complete novice i've not really much idea where to start :(

I'd like to get the best bang for buck fast as can be system for around $1500 ( will be purchasing parts from either newegg or micro-centre)

SSD is a must, I want the system and any progs to boot quickly and will probably ( advice appreciated) use another for a photoshop scratch disc - i've read the OCZ Vertex 4 is pretty quick and there are good deals at the moment on ssd's.

i want a minimum of 16gb ram but a mother board that can take 32 if I feel the need to stick more in.

I've no idea about the rest of it !!

any help gratefully received !

cheers
Aidy

g-unit1111

Titan
Here you go:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($314.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($36.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($154.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Mushkin Blackline 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($83.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F4 2TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive ($119.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Corsair Neutron Series 240GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($209.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB Video Card ($299.99 @ Newegg)
Case: NZXT Phantom 410 (White) ATX Mid Tower Case ($109.98 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: PC Power & Cooling 750W 80 PLUS Silver Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($89.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer ($24.97 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (64-bit) ($139.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $1585.86